iPhone 3G Unlock woes – Redsn0w and Ultrsn0w versions

I have my wife’s old iPhone 3G having bust my Android based HTC Desire HD. It was an eBay purchase that we had jailbroken by some bloke in a shop, it came with IOS 3.x and we were warned to never let iTunes upgrade the OS. I’ve got a bit bored of that so wanted to install the latest IOS version that works on the iPhone 3G which is 4.2.1.

My thought process was to sync the phone with iTunes and let that upgrade it to 4.2.1 then jailbreak it. The first part went ok then came the jailbreak. Stupidly I visited one of the online guaranteed jailbreak/unlock sites and duly handed over my £15 to obtain the Redsn0w and Ultrasn0w software that would respectively jailbreak and unlock the phone. I followed the instructions to the letter – run Redsn0w to jailbreak use the installed Cydia app to install Ultrasn0w and run that to unlock. However I wound up with a phone that would not pick up my mobile network provider – 3.  I got nowhere with support from the download website, I threatened to ask for a refund and cited their “guaranteed money back  if it doesn’t work” to which I got  1 lousy email saying “what do you want” and nothing more (sigh).

I resorted to searching the Internet more thoroughly which is what I should have done in the first place. It turns out that all the software is freely downloadable but that’s my fault for which I got hit for £15. Irritating but more worrying was why the phone refused to pick up the carrier.

It turns out that the iTunes upgrade to 4.2.1 had also upgraded the modem/baseband software to 5.15.04 which doesn’t work with the Ultrasn0w unlock. There were all sorts of instructions around SIM burning and software which would only work with IOS bootloader v5.8 which of course mine wasn’t. However, I did stumble across this link which noted that Ultasn0w would unlock the baseband v6.15 which comes with the iPad and that this baseband is compatible with the 3G.

It turns out that Redsn0w 0.9.6.b6 has an option to upgrade the baseband to 6.15 so I re-installed Redsn0w selecting this option and hey presto! My network provider is picked up (presumably the previous Ultrasn0w unlock was still in effect).

Marvellous.

About Matt Sinfield

Work in the IT industry but have a couple of hobbies, Snowboard, Kitesurf and of course XBox
This entry was posted in PC Fixing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

