Internet Explorer 8 adm template file on Windows 2008

I wanted to import GPO admin templates to allow me to adminster IE8 settings on a windows client from the W2k8 DC. I had a copy of the appropriate Ie8 inetres.adm so ran up Group Policy Management console and imported it into Administrative Templates in the OU that I would be applying it to. All appeared to work ok and the the adm appeared in Sysvol where it was supposed to. However, I couldn’t see any of the new settings through the GPMC, I’ve spent a couple of hours looking at it and come to the conclusion that you can only extend custom reg settings using .adm files rather than .admx/.adml for areas for functionality that do not already exist. There is a inetres.admx already on the box for IE7 so it looks like my IE8 .adm is being ignored.

I’ll try the Microsoft recommendation of installing IE8 onto the DC to see it that works as it should update inetres.admx to a newer version.

UPDATE– I’ve installed the the 64-bit Windows 2008 R1 version of IE8 (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=18691) onto the DC and I have have the full set of expected IE8 Group Policy settings to configure.

Laters, Matt

About Matt Sinfield

Work in the IT industry but have a couple of hobbies, Snowboard, Kitesurf and of course XBox
This entry was posted in Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

