Snowboarding on Powder – my poor technique

We did a little bit if powder while out in Mayhofen this year. It was pretty good fun but on the third day I noticed my technique went a bit skew meaning that I couldn’t easily turn onto my toes (in fact it was bloody hard) yet I could turn onto my heels easily enough. this was reminiscent of a few days out in Canada a couple of years back.

I did someĀ pondering on it when I returned and I think I may have figured it out. When leaning back on the board in deep power (to compensate for having a short park board – K2 Parkstar) I don’t have enough weight forward to help with the turn intiation. This is fine of itself as the turning point on the board is further back in powder. What really is the killer is my stance – I twist my hips and shoulders away from being in-line with the board, I open them out to the direction of travel. In this position I have a lot of my weight on my rear (left) heel. This is diagonally opposite to where I want the weight to be when I initiate the turn.

Now all I need to do is remember that next time! Fingers crossed….

Laters.

About Matt Sinfield

Work in the IT industry but have a couple of hobbies, Snowboard, Kitesurf and of course XBox
This entry was posted in Snowboard. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

