Windows 7 Remote Desktop without password

 

I have a Win7 media centre PC that doesn’t have a password set so that it’ll boot straight into WM after power-on with no user intervention. I quite like that config but then wanted to remote into the same PC from my somewhere else in my home LAN. I was denied so I figured that there was a local security policy denying me. I spent and few minutes going through the various settings but couldn’t see it. A quick Google later pointed me to it. I had been in the right area but just didn’t see the specific setting:

start | run | gpedit.msc

Local Computer Policy | Computer Configuration | Windows Settings | Security Settings | Local Policies | Security Options | Accounts: Limit local account use of blank passwords to console logon only

Disable

About Matt Sinfield

Work in the IT industry but have a couple of hobbies, Snowboard, Kitesurf and of course XBox
This entry was posted in PC Fixing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

